Uncategorized

Get up, get out, & live

IMG_2342 Weekends are for cleaning, doing laundry, and then cleaning some more, right? For the past 15 years of my life, I’ve fallen into this routine-like life and there is no one else to blame but me. In a perfect world my house would be clean and organized every single day of the week. I’ve always thought of an unorganized house as a poor reflection of me as a wife and mother. So, unless we have major plans, weekends are for picking up after the tornado that hit our home. But with staying indoors came waking up really late (10-11:00am) and feeling sluggish. By this time, the rest of the world was either having their third cup of coffee or thinking about lunch! .

Well, this past week I decided to put an end to that routine. My alarm sounded off at 6am Saturday morning. Not quite sure why it went off since I have it set weekdays only. Well, that’s besides the point. I really think the universe was trying to tell me something.  The first thought that came to my mind was a list of things that needed to get done. And immediately after that I thought to myself, “is this really how things are going to be until the end of times?”. And it was at that very moment that I decided that I would get up, lace up my running shoes and go for an early morning beach run. I messaged my sister and being the trooper that she is, she agreed to come along. By 7:30am, we were on the road. What would normally be a 45 minute drive to Santa Monica, ended up being a 20 minute drive. There was also plenty of street parking to choose from. It was perfect!

I had a 4 mile run scheduled that day, so I figured why not run from the Santa Monica Pier to Venice. It was way more than a 4 mile stretch but it was worth it. The smell of fresh air, the white fluffy clouds, the waves crashing, and the beautiful rays of sunlight all dancing together. After the run, I took my shoes off and made my way to the water and allowed the sand to gently massage my feet. I stood in awe, admiring the peaceful and serene view of the sea stretching out farther than the human eye can see.

I will no longer allow myself to drown in a mountain full of house chores. Because let’s face it, with three kids at home, I’ll never see the end of it. Three kids that are sort of falling into this “we don’t want to do anything but be on our phones” type of deal. Again, I take full accountability for that as well. I realize it will take some time but soon enough the kids will be the early birds leading the way.

As women and mothers, we are constantly taking care of those around us. Some people call it being selfish, I call it taking care of myself. That being said,  I no longer want to miss out on moments like these. I can no longer let this world continue to pass US by. There’s things to do, places to see, and people to meet! We’ve got to get up, get out, and live!

IMG_2340IMG_2324

 IMG_2333               IMG_2332

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

